Hampstead Business Mums - Azzurra, WRAPAHUG

Azzurra hasn't lived in the area for long, but she has really made an impression in the Hampstead Mums community in a short space of time.

She runs WRAPAHUG (she is a babywearing consultant) at Belsize Library, and she has also helped organise talks at the library for local mums and businesses. 

How long have you lived in the Hampstead area?

We moved to Belsize Park 4 months ago. I never lived in London before but I think I have been lucky finding this area first.

Where did you grow up? Was it similar to Hampstead?

I grew up in a really small town called Portobuffolè in the north of Italy. Me and 700 other people. Then after I fell in love with my husband I moved to an even smaller town in the mountains. So I would say London is a completely new environment for me!

Describe your family. (Age/gender of members)

Me and my husband just crossed over the thirty… more or less and we have a two years old little girl that is getting smarter every day!

What’s your favourite thing to do over the weekend.

We love to go to the Heath with a blanket and a bag full of food, maybe a bottle of wine and some friends and sit on the grass watching our little girl play We love picnics at the Heath.

Are there any classes/businesses in the area you really love and would like others to know about?

I had the chance recently to meet Elisa from the Nest in St John’s Wood and Silvia from BabyBrains and I am looking forward to meeting them again and do something together. I would definitely recommend both of them. There are many other good activities in our area that I am starting to know and that is why I am organizing meeting every month to give mums the chance to know children professionals in the area. I love to know people that I trust and that I can recommend to the mums I meet in my sessions.

Favourite restaurant in the area?

I would say the Indian one in the Belsize Village, the one in the corner… but I still have to try a loooooot of them.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

After my first summer in the UK I have to say some place with sunny hot weather and maybe the sea!!! I don’t really know… our plan is to live here and go back often to Italy… I think this can be a pretty good deal

Do you have much family around?

In London just a very good and old friend who is like family to me. But I am finding a lot of new good friends so far

What languages do you speak in your household?

Italian and some English

Did you always know you wanted your own business?

No, I changed it when my daughter was born

Please describe your business? When did you start it?

I am a babywearing consultant, I help other parents learn how to better carry their little ones in wrap.

How would you describe yourself prior to being a mum?

A singer. I was working really hard day and night to build my career. I was a singing teacher as well.

How would you describe yourself now?

A mum in love with the attachment parenting philosophy!! And a babywearing consultant. And a singer as well